I’m Back! (Or At Least, I’m Going To Try To Be!)

I sincerely hope the above title is humble enough to convey my own very modest expectations. I haven’t blogged in well over 2 years. And for the 6-8 months prior to that, I probably averaged a post every 10 weeks. I certainly don’t suffer from an overabundance of hours in my day, and wonder how I can possibly add any more duties (especially a voluntary one like writing) to an already rather staggering load? Let’s sidestep that for a moment, though…

SO…In contemplating a return to the world of blogging, what does one even say after not posting anything lengthier than a Facebook status update or a tweet since March of 2012?  If I were planning to pursue the path of total candor, it would sound something like this:

“Hi everyone! In case anyone wonders why I haven’t blogged for 1/5 of a decade…well, life happened. It’s how the cookie crumbles; no two ways about it, and I’m not complaining. But the truth is…I wonder if anyone really even missed that I wasn’t contributing anything to the already deafening roar of cyberspace chatter that consumes our lives? Please don’t everyone all holler ‘NO!’ at once because that’s impolite and also, it might shatter my self-esteem…”

Here is the heart of the matter. I have missed contributing through the written word to the ongoing conversation that is politics, culture, religion, family, entertainment…these and sundry other components of LIFE in general, complete with all of its glorious messiness. In recent weeks, I’ve arrived at the realization that I have missed it far more than I knew I did, and that there has been a void in my life for a while that nothing else can fill.

I’m going to preemptively concede that what I’m about to say constitutes a ridiculously egocentric notion…but I’ve felt a tug lately to return to writing, despite the fact that I’m busier and happier in my current career than I’ve ever been in any pursuit. I’d almost dare refer to my recent inclinations as a calling…although I shudder a little even as I employ the term! How many nutjobs over millennia of time have convinced themselves that God Almighty was using them as His mouthpiece, when nothing could have been further from the truth? Yet, God does delight in using seeming absurdities to communicate His grace to a needy world. Wouldn’t it be a joy to play a part in that unfolding narrative, if He saw fit to let it unfold in that fashion? So run my musings lately…

The fact is, I’m under no illusions when it comes to the sheer mass of columnists, podcasters, bloggers, radio hosts, TV talkers and assorted other soapbox invocators vying for precious minutes in everyone’s day. And I’m talking only about the world of politics! Preachers, priests, sportscasters, musicians, our own peers, even…What do I have to offer that none of them do?

Only this. I’m me. No one else can be. And I need to write.

So I’m going to try to. I’m not sure where this will go, but I hope you’ll consider coming along for the ride, or at least checking in every once in a while.

One thought on “I’m Back! (Or At Least, I’m Going To Try To Be!)

  1. Good job, Glen. Just keep writing like you are talking to a friend and you will do just fine. I know sometimes it is hard to let other people read your work, but I think you have already crossed over that hurdle! Keep writing and I will keep reading!

Leave a Reply

